Settle down

Settle down, they say
Oh why wouldn’t I
If only I didn’t have big plans
Of traveling the world
Of living my dreams
Of gazing at stars
Of sweating it out
Of following my passion
Of discovering myself.

Settle down they say.
They don’t know
The pain that comes
With our hearts attached to our sleeves

Settle down they say
They don’t know that it’s not
Our solitary purpose

Okay settle down for what?
With no agenda
With no courage
With no meaning

Why can’t we all settle ‘up’
Choose a higher beckoning?
Aim for the shooting stars?

Leave a Reply

